

Application for a Manufactured Home Dealer License Instructions

MVD Use Only

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431 ● Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 ● dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

A person may not engage in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting as a broker of a manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name unless the person is the holder of a manufactured home dealer's license issued by the department.

This section does not apply to a person buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting as a broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name (MCA 61-12-901).

Laws and regulations for Montana New Manufactured Home dealers can be found at: http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/61/12/61-12-901.htm

Assigned to dealers authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a franchise agreement between the licensee and the manufacturer, importer, or distributor of the manufactured home; sell any used manufactured home; negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a manufactured home from another licensed dealer or another person on behalf of a client when the licensee does not store, display, or take ownership of the manufactured home purchased, sold, or exchanged.

A license under this section does not apply to a person buying selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting as a broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name.

♦ A "manufactured home" means a residential dwelling built in a factory in accordance with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code and the federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards. The term does not include a mobile home or housetrailer as defined in MCA 15-24-201.

To be qualified for licensure as a dealer, an applicant must have and/or provide to the department the following:

- A written application for a manufactured home dealer license on a form prescribed by the department.
 Any information provided in the license application process is subject to independent verification by the department.
- A permanent non-residential building where sales are made, records are kept and a lot where a minimum of two double-wide units can be displayed.
- A sign stating the name of the business and indicating that manufactured homes are offered for sale, trade or consignment. The letters of the sign must be at least six inches in height and clearly visible and readable to the major avenue of traffic at a minimum distance of 150 feet.
- A bond in the amount of \$50,000 is required. The original bond must be submitted for approval to the department, showing an expiration date of September 30 of the current license year, and must be renewed annually.
- Evidence of compliance with all city/county requirements, as evidenced by written verification signed by the authorized representative of the local land-use or zoning board.
- Telephone service at the established place of business must be installed and maintained in the
 dealership's name and listed in the directory assistance that applies to the area in which the business is
 located.
- Written notice, conspicuously posted at the established place of business, of the regular and customary office hours.
- Original license and application fee of \$51.50 (fee includes 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111).
- When all requirements are met, contact the Montana highway patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

New Manufactured Home Dealers must submit a renewal application and bond or continuation certificate for their renewal quarter each year. Refer to the renewal schedule to determine when the renewal application and fee must be submitted.



Application for a **Manufactured Home Dealer License** Instructions

MVD Use Only

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431

Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 • dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

The forms required to apply for a manufactured home dealer license are indicated below.

For additional information refer to Form MV22MD, an informational letter that contains information for complying with laws governing the business. Forms can be found on the state website at: https://doimt.gov/driving/dealers-forms/

Check off items below to ensure submission of a completed report. Do not submit

It is advised that you keep the informational letter for your files.

the instruction pages with the application (when mailing or faxing). It is for your records.
Complete and sign the dealer application (MV25MD) - all sections must be completed and all owners must sign . If signing for a corporation, the person designated as the manager must sign. Submit a copy of the government-issued ID or tribal ID for all owners.
☐ Contact the Montana Highway Patrol, local law enforcement agency, or Compliance Specialist for an inspection of the business premises and completion of the inspection form (MV105MD).
 Obtain a dealer surety bond. The effect of the bond must be continuously effective: In the amount of \$50,000. In the full business name (including full DBA name, if applicable) with the business physical address. The license type must indicate: Manufactured Home Dealer
 All dealers must obtain proof of compliance with local land-use planning, zoning and business-permitting requirements which must include: Written verification signed by an authorized representative of the zoning board. Business street address
☐ Return all of the forms listed above with the necessary fees.
Upon receipt of this paperwork, the department will consider the establishment for licensure. It takes approximately three weeks for approval of a license.

Read carefully and complete all forms.

Any forms that are not completed properly or that do not have the correct fees submitted will be returned, which may cause a delay in receiving your license. Please contact the VSB if you have any questions.



Vehicle Services Bureau

Manufactured Home Dealer License Application

MVD Use Only

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431 Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 • dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

A manufactured home dealer is authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a franchise agreement, or any used manufactured home, and to negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a manufactured home.

Application fee: \$51.50 (fee includes 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111).

	Se	ection A: Busin	ess Information				
Business Name:	siness Name: Dealer License #						
DBA Name (if applica	ible):						
Business Street Addr	ess:						
City:		County:		State:	Zip:		
Mailing Address:							
City:		County:			Zip:		
Business Phone Num							
Federal Tax or Corpo	rate ID Number:						
*Business' License Li							
Phone Number:	Liaison <u>: </u>						
Alternate Email:							
*Indicate the person to act as th			se application or other licensir	ng concerns.			
	Se	ction B: Owner	ship Information	n			
officers may have corporate officers a Full Legal Name (as shown on your government-issued ID)				Driver License or Tribal ID No. (submit a copy)	Corporate Capacity		
1.							
Yes No	Is the individual listed above of yes, provide a summar lating to conduct and name of Residential & Mailing Address (street/city/state/zip)	y of the conduct resulti	ng in the felony determin	ation or plea, including d	ates of conduct and		
2.	(Street/City/State/Zip)			(ѕиринс а сору)			
Felony Background: Ha	Is the individual listed above If yes, provide a summare lating to conduct and name	y of the conduct resulti	ng in the felony determin	ation or plea, including d			
Full Legal Name (as shown on your government-issued ID) 3.	Residential & Mailing Address (street/city/state/zip)	Date of Birth	Social Security No.	Driver License or Tribal ID No. (submit a copy)	Corporate Capacity		
	s the individual listed above	ve been found guilty of,	or pled guilty to, a felon	y in Montana or elsewher	e?		
Yes No any court proceedings rel	If yes, provide a summar lating to conduct and name		ng in the felony determin Conduct Results:	ation or plea, including d	ates of conduct and		



Manufactured Home Dealer License Application

MVD Use Only

Vehicle Services Bureau

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431 Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 • dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

Sec	tion C: Person Designated to	o Manage th	e Business				
If a person other than the o complete this section. Please	wners or corporate officers listed e type or print.	d above is desi	gnated to manag	e the business,			
Full Legal Name (as shown on your government-issued ID)	Residential & Mailing Address (street/city/state/zip)	Date of Birth	Social Security No.	Driver License or Tribal ID No. (submit a copy)			
	ual listed above been found guilty of, or pledide a summary of the conduct resulting in t						
	and name and address of court. Conduct Re						
hereby certify under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203 Unsworn Falsification to Authorities) that on this date: I am the person named on this form The statements made and information contained on this form are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief If signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so I authorize the insurance company to release all general liability insurance policy information to the state of Montana, Vehicle Services Bureau My name, as it appears above, is intended for the purposes of this document to be my genuine signature and acknowledgment of this form. Applicant agrees to comply with the provisions of the Mont. Code Ann., and rules and regulations promulgated thereunder applicable to motor vehicle dealers, distributors and manufacturers in effect on the date of this Application. Electronically sign here to submit via email							
Signature of owner/corporate officer (If corporate officer, give title) (This is n	my legal signature)		Date			